Radiation Oncology

Brisbane Radiation Oncology - Radiation Cancer Care Specialists

Brisbane Radiation Oncology provides a consultative radiation oncology service at the Greenslopes
Private Hospital.

Our aim is to provide quality cancer care through a commitment to communication, collaboration and excellence in treatment delivery.

What is Radiation Oncology, Radiotherapy, Radiation Therapy?

Radiation Oncology (also known as radiotherapy or radiation therapy) uses ionizing radiation to treat cancer and some non-cancerous medical conditions.

Radiation therapy may be used as the sole modality of treatment or it may be used in combination with other treatments such as surgery or chemotherapy. Radiation therapy can be used to cure cancer (termed definitive or radical therapy) or to relieve the symptoms caused by a cancer and to improve the patient's quality of life (termed palliative treatment).

Radiation therapy has been used to treat cancer for more than 100 years. It is a proven safe and effective treatment. Over recent years, significant technological advances (such as Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy and Image guided Radiation Therapy) have meant that radiation can better target cancers and minimise dose to surrounding normal tissues. This has improved treatment outcomes and reduced treatment-related side effects.

Who is a Radiation Oncologist?

A Radiation Oncologist is a medical specialist who has undertaken at least 5 years of post-graduate training in treating patients with cancer, specifically using radiation therapy. Radiation Oncologists work as part of a multi-disciplinary team working in close collaboration with surgeons, medical oncologists, and palliative care specialists. Over recent years, many Radiation Oncologists have chosen to further specialise their knowledge in the management of one or two particular cancer types.

Our Radiation Oncologists have all chosen to specialise in the treatment of a wide range of cancers.

Our practice is run by a highly skilled team of Radiation Oncologists:
Dr Margot Leham, Dr Jennifer Harvey, Dr G Tao Mai, A/Prof Matthew Foote and Dr David Pryor.